HomeroomCalifornia public school data, readable by the families it describes.

California public school

Dan O. Root Elementary

School district
Fairfield-Suisun Unified
City
Suisun City
County
Solano
Grades served
K-5
School type
Not a charter school
County-district-school code
48705406109128

How to read this page

Homeroom does not rank schools. There is no score here, no grade, and no list putting one school above another. Each figure is shown on its own, with the public file it came from named at the bottom of the page.

Beside each figure are the same figures for this school's district and for California. They are there to give a number a size, not to award a verdict: being above or below either one is not by itself good or bad. Both come from the state's own district and statewide rows in the same file. Homeroom does not add schools together to make them, because any such total would quietly leave out the students whose numbers the state withheld.

A blank cell is not a zero, and a withheld number is not a zero either. Those are three different facts, and this page keeps them apart.

What each cell can say

A number
The state published this figure. It is printed exactly as published.
reported as zero
The state published a zero. Nobody was counted, and that is a fact the state recorded, not an empty space.
withheld to protect privacy
The state has this figure and holds it back, because the group is small enough that publishing the count could identify a student. Homeroom leaves it out. It is never filled in and never shown as a zero.
no figure published
The state published nothing here at all. That is different from a zero and different from a figure held back.

Students

Total enrollment at Dan O. Root Elementary on Census Day, 2025-26.
FigureAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
All students41320,0105,731,2609,8600674

The last three columns are not about this school. They count all 10,534 active schools Homeroom holds, so that an empty row here can be read against how often the state publishes that figure at all.

Students by grade

Enrollment by grade at Dan O. Root Elementary on Census Day, 2025-26.
GradeAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Transitional kindergarten (TK)20486213,3139,8600674
Kindergarten521,332355,3919,8600674
Grade 1651,438376,3939,8600674
Grade 2631,445387,0839,8600674
Grade 3701,504404,4549,8600674
Grade 4631,584420,7569,8600674
Grade 5801,620422,4999,8600674
Grade 60 reported as zero1,491428,6729,8600674
Grade 70 reported as zero1,504432,5659,8600674
Grade 80 reported as zero1,524438,9499,8600674
Grade 90 reported as zero1,559462,2069,8600674
Grade 100 reported as zero1,499465,0899,8600674
Grade 110 reported as zero1,450445,9309,8600674
Grade 120 reported as zero1,574477,9609,8600674

Students by group

These are the groups the state counts, using its own categories. A group with a small number of students is often withheld, which is why so many of these rows say so.

Race and ethnicity

Race and ethnicity at Dan O. Root Elementary on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Asian151,342588,4198,34102,193
African American682,462276,1138,60401,930
Race or ethnicity not reportedno figure published2574,2445,65004,884
Filipino231,833126,9117,23603,298
Hispanic or Latino1939,6713,209,8299,8230711
American Indian or Alaska Native55524,1305,71504,819
Pacific Islander419022,6925,14205,392
Two or more races612,106280,4758,85101,683
White442,3261,128,4479,6220912

Gender

Gender at Dan O. Root Elementary on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Female2059,6762,784,9959,8160718
Male20810,3232,941,7959,8480686
Non-binaryno figure published114,4701,81108,723

English language acquisition

English language acquisition at Dan O. Root Elementary on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Adult English learnerno figure publishedno figure published4,52251010,483
English learner632,963925,9079,5420992
English only32813,3533,561,6829,8470687
Initial fluent English proficient9688273,7709,01801,516
English language acquisition status missingno figure publishedno figure published11644010,490
Reclassified fluent English proficient112,884900,5999,43101,103
To be determined212264,6646,00804,526

Student groups

Student groups at Dan O. Root Elementary on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Students with disabilities793,085850,8229,7770757
English learners632,963925,9079,5420992
Foster youth36526,3976,39104,143
Homeless youth19528217,4718,62601,908
Migrant youth116248,0313,77306,761
Socioeconomically disadvantaged30712,8953,618,0629,8530681

Chronic absenteeism

A student is chronically absent if they missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend. The rate below is the state's own figure, counted only from students eligible to be considered: a student enrolled too briefly, or exempt for reasons the state sets, is not part of it. Homeroom does not compute this rate; it is printed exactly as the state published it.

Chronic absenteeism at Dan O. Root Elementary, 2024-25 school year.
FigureAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
All students32.7%25%19.4%9,71883733

Race and ethnicity

Race and ethnicity chronic absenteeism at Dan O. Root Elementary, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Asian15.8%11.9%8.1%5,1134,688733
African American33.8%33.1%31.3%4,8644,937733
Race or ethnicity not reportedwithheld to protect privacy12.9%19.4%1,9957,806733
Filipino24.1%11.7%9.1%2,9086,893733
Hispanic or Latino34.6%27.9%22.3%9,498303733
American Indian or Alaska Nativewithheld to protect privacy33.3%31.6%4519,350733
Pacific Islanderwithheld to protect privacy33.5%31.3%5289,273733
Two or more races33.8%25.6%16.5%5,7484,053733
White33.3%20.8%15.1%7,7912,010733

Gender

Gender chronic absenteeism at Dan O. Root Elementary, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Female29.7%24.9%19.3%9,503282749
Male35.5%25.1%19.4%9,621171742
Non-binaryno figure published31.8%31.2%551,9908,489

Student groups

Student groups chronic absenteeism at Dan O. Root Elementary, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Students with disabilities40.7%34.4%27.7%9,215544775
English learners25%28.8%21.3%8,580983971
Foster youthwithheld to protect privacy29.1%37.3%9466,3663,222
Homeless youth63.3%46.3%34.9%5,6473,3191,568
Migrant youthno figure published29.8%17.3%1,1681,9607,406
Socioeconomically disadvantaged33.5%30%24.1%9,643156735

How much of this the state publishes

Coverage is published beside the data on purpose. A page that showed only what exists would read as a complete picture, and it is not one.

Active schools in this build
10,534
Schools publishing a total enrollment figure
9,860
Schools where that total is withheld
0
Schools publishing no total at all
674
Enrollment records matching no active school
698
Schools publishing a chronic absenteeism rate
9,718
Schools where that rate is withheld
83
Schools publishing no chronic absenteeism rate at all
733

What is not on this page yet

Teacher assignment data is not yet published here. California publishes, for each school, how many teaching assignments were held by a teacher with a clear credential matched to what they teach. Homeroom has read that file and confirmed what it contains, and has not yet decided how to publish it, so this page shows no figure about the teachers at this school.

The state dashboard indicators and per-pupil spending are not here yet either. Each one arrives with its own file and its own access date, or it does not arrive.

Where these numbers come from

Every figure above was copied from one of these files. Nothing was estimated, averaged, or filled in from a neighbouring number.

Enrollment
Census Day Enrollment Data. File: cdenroll2526.txt. School year: 2025-26. Downloaded: 2026-08-07. The state's page for this file
School names and districts
Public Schools and Districts directory. File: pubschls.txt. Downloaded: 2026-08-07. The state's page for this file
Chronic absenteeism
Chronic Absenteeism Data. File: chronicabsenteeism25.txt. School year: 2024-25. Downloaded: 2026-08-21. The state's page for this file