HomeroomCalifornia public school data, readable by the families it describes.

California public school

Independence

School district
Lodi Unified
City
Lodi
County
San Joaquin
Grades served
1-12
School type
Not a charter school
County-district-school code
39685853930344

How to read this page

Homeroom does not rank schools. There is no score here, no grade, and no list putting one school above another. Each figure is shown on its own, with the public file it came from named at the bottom of the page.

Beside each figure are the same figures for this school's district and for California. They are there to give a number a size, not to award a verdict: being above or below either one is not by itself good or bad. Both come from the state's own district and statewide rows in the same file. Homeroom does not add schools together to make them, because any such total would quietly leave out the students whose numbers the state withheld.

A blank cell is not a zero, and a withheld number is not a zero either. Those are three different facts, and this page keeps them apart.

What each cell can say

A number
The state published this figure. It is printed exactly as published.
reported as zero
The state published a zero. Nobody was counted, and that is a fact the state recorded, not an empty space.
withheld to protect privacy
The state has this figure and holds it back, because the group is small enough that publishing the count could identify a student. Homeroom leaves it out. It is never filled in and never shown as a zero.
no figure published
The state published nothing here at all. That is different from a zero and different from a figure held back.

Students

Total enrollment at Independence on Census Day, 2025-26.
FigureAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
All students16730,0405,731,2609,8600674

The last three columns are not about this school. They count all 10,534 active schools Homeroom holds, so that an empty row here can be read against how often the state publishes that figure at all.

Students by grade

Enrollment by grade at Independence on Census Day, 2025-26.
GradeAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Transitional kindergarten (TK)0 reported as zero916213,3139,8600674
Kindergarten31,961355,3919,8600674
Grade 10 reported as zero2,019376,3939,8600674
Grade 20 reported as zero2,076387,0839,8600674
Grade 322,174404,4549,8600674
Grade 442,266420,7569,8600674
Grade 512,224422,4999,8600674
Grade 662,352428,6729,8600674
Grade 742,284432,5659,8600674
Grade 872,350438,9499,8600674
Grade 9122,406462,2069,8600674
Grade 10212,432465,0899,8600674
Grade 11272,224445,9309,8600674
Grade 12802,356477,9609,8600674

Students by group

These are the groups the state counts, using its own categories. A group with a small number of students is often withheld, which is why so many of these rows say so.

Race and ethnicity

Race and ethnicity at Independence on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Asian325,762588,4198,34102,193
African American161,883276,1138,60401,930
Race or ethnicity not reportedno figure published39574,2445,65004,884
Filipino31,052126,9117,23603,298
Hispanic or Latino7414,5693,209,8299,8230711
American Indian or Alaska Nativeno figure published11924,1305,71504,819
Pacific Islanderno figure published25022,6925,14205,392
Two or more races41,227280,4758,85101,683
White384,7831,128,4479,6220912

Gender

Gender at Independence on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Female8714,5712,784,9959,8160718
Male7815,4492,941,7959,8480686
Non-binary2204,4701,81108,723

English language acquisition

English language acquisition at Independence on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Adult English learnerno figure publishedno figure published4,52251010,483
English learner255,033925,9079,5420992
English only11919,6063,561,6829,8470687
Initial fluent English proficient4746273,7709,01801,516
English language acquisition status missingno figure publishedno figure published11644010,490
Reclassified fluent English proficient194,415900,5999,43101,103
To be determinedno figure published24064,6646,00804,526

Student groups

Student groups at Independence on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Students with disabilities644,823850,8229,7770757
English learners255,033925,9079,5420992
Foster youthno figure published16126,3976,39104,143
Homeless youthno figure published147217,4718,62601,908
Migrant youthno figure published33848,0313,77306,761
Socioeconomically disadvantaged11821,1163,618,0629,8530681

Chronic absenteeism

A student is chronically absent if they missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend. The rate below is the state's own figure, counted only from students eligible to be considered: a student enrolled too briefly, or exempt for reasons the state sets, is not part of it. Homeroom does not compute this rate; it is printed exactly as the state published it.

Chronic absenteeism at Independence, 2024-25 school year.
FigureAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
All students48.9%22.9%19.4%9,71883733

Race and ethnicity

Race and ethnicity chronic absenteeism at Independence, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Asian29.7%18.1%8.1%5,1134,688733
African American72.2%37.6%31.3%4,8644,937733
Race or ethnicity not reportedwithheld to protect privacy18.1%19.4%1,9957,806733
Filipinowithheld to protect privacy13.5%9.1%2,9086,893733
Hispanic or Latino50%24.9%22.3%9,498303733
American Indian or Alaska Nativewithheld to protect privacy32.3%31.6%4519,350733
Pacific Islanderwithheld to protect privacy29.8%31.3%5289,273733
Two or more raceswithheld to protect privacy25.9%16.5%5,7484,053733
White53.3%17.8%15.1%7,7912,010733

Gender

Gender chronic absenteeism at Independence, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Female45.2%22.8%19.3%9,503282749
Male53%23.1%19.4%9,621171742
Non-binarywithheld to protect privacy15.4%31.2%551,9908,489

Student groups

Student groups chronic absenteeism at Independence, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Students with disabilities66.7%30.6%27.7%9,215544775
English learners53.3%22.4%21.3%8,580983971
Foster youthwithheld to protect privacy33.8%37.3%9466,3663,222
Homeless youthwithheld to protect privacy53.2%34.9%5,6473,3191,568
Migrant youthno figure published19.2%17.3%1,1681,9607,406
Socioeconomically disadvantaged50.3%25.9%24.1%9,643156735

How much of this the state publishes

Coverage is published beside the data on purpose. A page that showed only what exists would read as a complete picture, and it is not one.

Active schools in this build
10,534
Schools publishing a total enrollment figure
9,860
Schools where that total is withheld
0
Schools publishing no total at all
674
Enrollment records matching no active school
698
Schools publishing a chronic absenteeism rate
9,718
Schools where that rate is withheld
83
Schools publishing no chronic absenteeism rate at all
733

What is not on this page yet

Teacher assignment data is not yet published here. California publishes, for each school, how many teaching assignments were held by a teacher with a clear credential matched to what they teach. Homeroom has read that file and confirmed what it contains, and has not yet decided how to publish it, so this page shows no figure about the teachers at this school.

The state dashboard indicators and per-pupil spending are not here yet either. Each one arrives with its own file and its own access date, or it does not arrive.

Where these numbers come from

Every figure above was copied from one of these files. Nothing was estimated, averaged, or filled in from a neighbouring number.

Enrollment
Census Day Enrollment Data. File: cdenroll2526.txt. School year: 2025-26. Downloaded: 2026-08-07. The state's page for this file
School names and districts
Public Schools and Districts directory. File: pubschls.txt. Downloaded: 2026-08-07. The state's page for this file
Chronic absenteeism
Chronic Absenteeism Data. File: chronicabsenteeism25.txt. School year: 2024-25. Downloaded: 2026-08-21. The state's page for this file