HomeroomCalifornia public school data, readable by the families it describes.

California public school

Cardiff Elementary

School district
Cardiff Elementary
City
Cardiff-by-the-Sea
County
San Diego
Grades served
K-2
School type
Not a charter school
County-district-school code
37680076037766

How to read this page

Homeroom does not rank schools. There is no score here, no grade, and no list putting one school above another. Each figure is shown on its own, with the public file it came from named at the bottom of the page.

Beside each figure are the same figures for this school's district and for California. They are there to give a number a size, not to award a verdict: being above or below either one is not by itself good or bad. Both come from the state's own district and statewide rows in the same file. Homeroom does not add schools together to make them, because any such total would quietly leave out the students whose numbers the state withheld.

A blank cell is not a zero, and a withheld number is not a zero either. Those are three different facts, and this page keeps them apart.

What each cell can say

A number
The state published this figure. It is printed exactly as published.
reported as zero
The state published a zero. Nobody was counted, and that is a fact the state recorded, not an empty space.
withheld to protect privacy
The state has this figure and holds it back, because the group is small enough that publishing the count could identify a student. Homeroom leaves it out. It is never filled in and never shown as a zero.
no figure published
The state published nothing here at all. That is different from a zero and different from a figure held back.

Students

Total enrollment at Cardiff Elementary on Census Day, 2025-26.
FigureAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
All students2376105,731,2609,8600674

The last three columns are not about this school. They count all 10,534 active schools Homeroom holds, so that an empty row here can be read against how often the state publishes that figure at all.

Students by grade

Enrollment by grade at Cardiff Elementary on Census Day, 2025-26.
GradeAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Transitional kindergarten (TK)0 reported as zero0 reported as zero213,3139,8600674
Kindergarten7070355,3919,8600674
Grade 17474376,3939,8600674
Grade 29393387,0839,8600674
Grade 30 reported as zero92404,4549,8600674
Grade 40 reported as zero87420,7569,8600674
Grade 50 reported as zero112422,4999,8600674
Grade 60 reported as zero82428,6729,8600674
Grade 70 reported as zero0 reported as zero432,5659,8600674
Grade 80 reported as zero0 reported as zero438,9499,8600674
Grade 90 reported as zero0 reported as zero462,2069,8600674
Grade 100 reported as zero0 reported as zero465,0899,8600674
Grade 110 reported as zero0 reported as zero445,9309,8600674
Grade 120 reported as zero0 reported as zero477,9609,8600674

Students by group

These are the groups the state counts, using its own categories. A group with a small number of students is often withheld, which is why so many of these rows say so.

Race and ethnicity

Race and ethnicity at Cardiff Elementary on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Asian414588,4198,34102,193
African American22276,1138,60401,930
Race or ethnicity not reported154374,2445,65004,884
Filipinono figure published3126,9117,23603,298
Hispanic or Latino31803,209,8299,8230711
American Indian or Alaska Nativeno figure published124,1305,71504,819
Pacific Islanderno figure publishedno figure published22,6925,14205,392
Two or more races2362280,4758,85101,683
White1624051,128,4479,6220912

Gender

Gender at Cardiff Elementary on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Female1022902,784,9959,8160718
Male1353202,941,7959,8480686
Non-binaryno figure publishedno figure published4,4701,81108,723

English language acquisition

English language acquisition at Cardiff Elementary on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Adult English learnerno figure publishedno figure published4,52251010,483
English learner926925,9079,5420992
English only2235573,561,6829,8470687
Initial fluent English proficient419273,7709,01801,516
English language acquisition status missingno figure publishedno figure published11644010,490
Reclassified fluent English proficient18900,5999,43101,103
To be determinedno figure publishedno figure published64,6646,00804,526

Student groups

Student groups at Cardiff Elementary on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Students with disabilities2492850,8229,7770757
English learners926925,9079,5420992
Foster youth2326,3976,39104,143
Homeless youthno figure publishedno figure published217,4718,62601,908
Migrant youthno figure publishedno figure published48,0313,77306,761
Socioeconomically disadvantaged22703,618,0629,8530681

Chronic absenteeism

A student is chronically absent if they missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend. The rate below is the state's own figure, counted only from students eligible to be considered: a student enrolled too briefly, or exempt for reasons the state sets, is not part of it. Homeroom does not compute this rate; it is printed exactly as the state published it.

Chronic absenteeism at Cardiff Elementary, 2024-25 school year.
FigureAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
All students8.2%6.4%19.4%9,71883733

Race and ethnicity

Race and ethnicity chronic absenteeism at Cardiff Elementary, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Asianwithheld to protect privacy7.1%8.1%5,1134,688733
African Americanwithheld to protect privacywithheld to protect privacy31.3%4,8644,937733
Race or ethnicity not reported0% reported as zero4%19.4%1,9957,806733
Filipinowithheld to protect privacywithheld to protect privacy9.1%2,9086,893733
Hispanic or Latino13.5%10.8%22.3%9,498303733
American Indian or Alaska Nativewithheld to protect privacywithheld to protect privacy31.6%4519,350733
Pacific Islanderwithheld to protect privacywithheld to protect privacy31.3%5289,273733
Two or more races3.7%4.6%16.5%5,7484,053733
White8.4%5.9%15.1%7,7912,010733

Gender

Gender chronic absenteeism at Cardiff Elementary, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Female6.3%5.9%19.3%9,503282749
Male10.1%6.9%19.4%9,621171742
Non-binaryno figure publishedno figure published31.2%551,9908,489

Student groups

Student groups chronic absenteeism at Cardiff Elementary, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Students with disabilities18.9%8.8%27.7%9,215544775
English learners13.3%11.8%21.3%8,580983971
Foster youthwithheld to protect privacywithheld to protect privacy37.3%9466,3663,222
Homeless youthno figure publishedno figure published34.9%5,6473,3191,568
Migrant youthno figure publishedno figure published17.3%1,1681,9607,406
Socioeconomically disadvantaged19.4%15.2%24.1%9,643156735

How much of this the state publishes

Coverage is published beside the data on purpose. A page that showed only what exists would read as a complete picture, and it is not one.

Active schools in this build
10,534
Schools publishing a total enrollment figure
9,860
Schools where that total is withheld
0
Schools publishing no total at all
674
Enrollment records matching no active school
698
Schools publishing a chronic absenteeism rate
9,718
Schools where that rate is withheld
83
Schools publishing no chronic absenteeism rate at all
733

What is not on this page yet

Teacher assignment data is not yet published here. California publishes, for each school, how many teaching assignments were held by a teacher with a clear credential matched to what they teach. Homeroom has read that file and confirmed what it contains, and has not yet decided how to publish it, so this page shows no figure about the teachers at this school.

The state dashboard indicators and per-pupil spending are not here yet either. Each one arrives with its own file and its own access date, or it does not arrive.

Where these numbers come from

Every figure above was copied from one of these files. Nothing was estimated, averaged, or filled in from a neighbouring number.

Enrollment
Census Day Enrollment Data. File: cdenroll2526.txt. School year: 2025-26. Downloaded: 2026-08-07. The state's page for this file
School names and districts
Public Schools and Districts directory. File: pubschls.txt. Downloaded: 2026-08-07. The state's page for this file
Chronic absenteeism
Chronic Absenteeism Data. File: chronicabsenteeism25.txt. School year: 2024-25. Downloaded: 2026-08-21. The state's page for this file