HomeroomCalifornia public school data, readable by the families it describes.

California public school

Literacy First Charter

School district
San Diego County Office of Education
City
El Cajon
County
San Diego
Grades served
K-12
School type
Charter school
County-district-school code
37103716119119

How to read this page

Homeroom does not rank schools. There is no score here, no grade, and no list putting one school above another. Each figure is shown on its own, with the public file it came from named at the bottom of the page.

Beside each figure are the same figures for this school's district and for California. They are there to give a number a size, not to award a verdict: being above or below either one is not by itself good or bad. Both come from the state's own district and statewide rows in the same file. Homeroom does not add schools together to make them, because any such total would quietly leave out the students whose numbers the state withheld.

A blank cell is not a zero, and a withheld number is not a zero either. Those are three different facts, and this page keeps them apart.

What each cell can say

A number
The state published this figure. It is printed exactly as published.
reported as zero
The state published a zero. Nobody was counted, and that is a fact the state recorded, not an empty space.
withheld to protect privacy
The state has this figure and holds it back, because the group is small enough that publishing the count could identify a student. Homeroom leaves it out. It is never filled in and never shown as a zero.
no figure published
The state published nothing here at all. That is different from a zero and different from a figure held back.

Students

Total enrollment at Literacy First Charter on Census Day, 2025-26.
FigureAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
All students2,11012,0275,731,2609,8600674

The last three columns are not about this school. They count all 10,534 active schools Homeroom holds, so that an empty row here can be read against how often the state publishes that figure at all.

Students by grade

Enrollment by grade at Literacy First Charter on Census Day, 2025-26.
GradeAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Transitional kindergarten (TK)23315213,3139,8600674
Kindergarten186829355,3919,8600674
Grade 1191902376,3939,8600674
Grade 2213929387,0839,8600674
Grade 3215925404,4549,8600674
Grade 4197914420,7569,8600674
Grade 5199893422,4999,8600674
Grade 6171997428,6729,8600674
Grade 71651,018432,5659,8600674
Grade 81631,011438,9499,8600674
Grade 9125850462,2069,8600674
Grade 10991,011465,0899,8600674
Grade 1193782445,9309,8600674
Grade 1270651477,9609,8600674

Students by group

These are the groups the state counts, using its own categories. A group with a small number of students is often withheld, which is why so many of these rows say so.

Race and ethnicity

Race and ethnicity at Literacy First Charter on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Asian8971,461588,4198,34102,193
African American26844276,1138,60401,930
Race or ethnicity not reported174674,2445,65004,884
Filipino24353126,9117,23603,298
Hispanic or Latino4145,6273,209,8299,8230711
American Indian or Alaska Native24324,1305,71504,819
Pacific Islanderno figure published6022,6925,14205,392
Two or more races76549280,4758,85101,683
White6543,0441,128,4479,6220912

Gender

Gender at Literacy First Charter on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Female1,0175,7012,784,9959,8160718
Male1,0936,3092,941,7959,8480686
Non-binaryno figure published174,4701,81108,723

English language acquisition

English language acquisition at Literacy First Charter on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Adult English learnerno figure published24,52251010,483
English learner4501,908925,9079,5420992
English only1,0177,6823,561,6829,8470687
Initial fluent English proficient282774273,7709,01801,516
English language acquisition status missingno figure publishedno figure published11644010,490
Reclassified fluent English proficient3551,541900,5999,43101,103
To be determined612064,6646,00804,526

Student groups

Student groups at Literacy First Charter on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Students with disabilities2642,144850,8229,7770757
English learners4501,908925,9079,5420992
Foster youth27226,3976,39104,143
Homeless youthno figure published480217,4718,62601,908
Migrant youthno figure published1948,0313,77306,761
Socioeconomically disadvantaged1,1206,3723,618,0629,8530681

Chronic absenteeism

A student is chronically absent if they missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend. The rate below is the state's own figure, counted only from students eligible to be considered: a student enrolled too briefly, or exempt for reasons the state sets, is not part of it. Homeroom does not compute this rate; it is printed exactly as the state published it.

Chronic absenteeism at Literacy First Charter, 2024-25 school year.
FigureAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
All students8%13.2%19.4%9,71883733

Race and ethnicity

Race and ethnicity chronic absenteeism at Literacy First Charter, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Asian6.5%6.8%8.1%5,1134,688733
African American9.4%23%31.3%4,8644,937733
Race or ethnicity not reportedwithheld to protect privacy6.5%19.4%1,9957,806733
Filipino0% reported as zero1.7%9.1%2,9086,893733
Hispanic or Latino11.8%18.6%22.3%9,498303733
American Indian or Alaska Nativewithheld to protect privacy27.8%31.6%4519,350733
Pacific Islanderwithheld to protect privacy0% reported as zero31.3%5289,273733
Two or more races9.8%9.3%16.5%5,7484,053733
White6.8%5.7%15.1%7,7912,010733

Gender

Gender chronic absenteeism at Literacy First Charter, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Female9.8%12.8%19.3%9,503282749
Male6%13.5%19.4%9,621171742
Non-binarywithheld to protect privacy27.3%31.2%551,9908,489

Student groups

Student groups chronic absenteeism at Literacy First Charter, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Students with disabilities11.7%20.2%27.7%9,215544775
English learners7.3%20.3%21.3%8,580983971
Foster youthwithheld to protect privacy34.3%37.3%9466,3663,222
Homeless youthno figure published39.5%34.9%5,6473,3191,568
Migrant youthno figure published30.8%17.3%1,1681,9607,406
Socioeconomically disadvantaged9.3%18.4%24.1%9,643156735

How much of this the state publishes

Coverage is published beside the data on purpose. A page that showed only what exists would read as a complete picture, and it is not one.

Active schools in this build
10,534
Schools publishing a total enrollment figure
9,860
Schools where that total is withheld
0
Schools publishing no total at all
674
Enrollment records matching no active school
698
Schools publishing a chronic absenteeism rate
9,718
Schools where that rate is withheld
83
Schools publishing no chronic absenteeism rate at all
733

What is not on this page yet

Teacher assignment data is not yet published here. California publishes, for each school, how many teaching assignments were held by a teacher with a clear credential matched to what they teach. Homeroom has read that file and confirmed what it contains, and has not yet decided how to publish it, so this page shows no figure about the teachers at this school.

The state dashboard indicators and per-pupil spending are not here yet either. Each one arrives with its own file and its own access date, or it does not arrive.

Where these numbers come from

Every figure above was copied from one of these files. Nothing was estimated, averaged, or filled in from a neighbouring number.

Enrollment
Census Day Enrollment Data. File: cdenroll2526.txt. School year: 2025-26. Downloaded: 2026-08-07. The state's page for this file
School names and districts
Public Schools and Districts directory. File: pubschls.txt. Downloaded: 2026-08-07. The state's page for this file
Chronic absenteeism
Chronic Absenteeism Data. File: chronicabsenteeism25.txt. School year: 2024-25. Downloaded: 2026-08-21. The state's page for this file