HomeroomCalifornia public school data, readable by the families it describes.

California public school

Goodwill Independent Study

School district
Victor Valley Union High
City
Victorville
County
San Bernardino
Grades served
8-12
School type
Not a charter school
County-district-school code
36679340138123

How to read this page

Homeroom does not rank schools. There is no score here, no grade, and no list putting one school above another. Each figure is shown on its own, with the public file it came from named at the bottom of the page.

Beside each figure are the same figures for this school's district and for California. They are there to give a number a size, not to award a verdict: being above or below either one is not by itself good or bad. Both come from the state's own district and statewide rows in the same file. Homeroom does not add schools together to make them, because any such total would quietly leave out the students whose numbers the state withheld.

A blank cell is not a zero, and a withheld number is not a zero either. Those are three different facts, and this page keeps them apart.

What each cell can say

A number
The state published this figure. It is printed exactly as published.
reported as zero
The state published a zero. Nobody was counted, and that is a fact the state recorded, not an empty space.
withheld to protect privacy
The state has this figure and holds it back, because the group is small enough that publishing the count could identify a student. Homeroom leaves it out. It is never filled in and never shown as a zero.
no figure published
The state published nothing here at all. That is different from a zero and different from a figure held back.

Students

Total enrollment at Goodwill Independent Study on Census Day, 2025-26.
FigureAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
All students15612,3765,731,2609,8600674

The last three columns are not about this school. They count all 10,534 active schools Homeroom holds, so that an empty row here can be read against how often the state publishes that figure at all.

Students by grade

Enrollment by grade at Goodwill Independent Study on Census Day, 2025-26.
GradeAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Transitional kindergarten (TK)0 reported as zero0 reported as zero213,3139,8600674
Kindergarten0 reported as zero0 reported as zero355,3919,8600674
Grade 10 reported as zero0 reported as zero376,3939,8600674
Grade 20 reported as zero0 reported as zero387,0839,8600674
Grade 30 reported as zero0 reported as zero404,4549,8600674
Grade 40 reported as zero0 reported as zero420,7569,8600674
Grade 50 reported as zero0 reported as zero422,4999,8600674
Grade 60 reported as zero0 reported as zero428,6729,8600674
Grade 70 reported as zero1,470432,5659,8600674
Grade 80 reported as zero1,500438,9499,8600674
Grade 9102,575462,2069,8600674
Grade 10162,405465,0899,8600674
Grade 11562,231445,9309,8600674
Grade 12742,195477,9609,8600674

Students by group

These are the groups the state counts, using its own categories. A group with a small number of students is often withheld, which is why so many of these rows say so.

Race and ethnicity

Race and ethnicity at Goodwill Independent Study on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Asian1180588,4198,34102,193
African American481,920276,1138,60401,930
Race or ethnicity not reported314474,2445,65004,884
Filipinono figure published105126,9117,23603,298
Hispanic or Latino928,7193,209,8299,8230711
American Indian or Alaska Nativeno figure published3724,1305,71504,819
Pacific Islanderno figure published4522,6925,14205,392
Two or more races6438280,4758,85101,683
White67881,128,4479,6220912

Gender

Gender at Goodwill Independent Study on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Female766,1692,784,9959,8160718
Male806,1762,941,7959,8480686
Non-binaryno figure published314,4701,81108,723

English language acquisition

English language acquisition at Goodwill Independent Study on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Adult English learnerno figure publishedno figure published4,52251010,483
English learner211,404925,9079,5420992
English only1168,1023,561,6829,8470687
Initial fluent English proficient2397273,7709,01801,516
English language acquisition status missingno figure publishedno figure published11644010,490
Reclassified fluent English proficient172,470900,5999,43101,103
To be determinedno figure published364,6646,00804,526

Student groups

Student groups at Goodwill Independent Study on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Students with disabilities171,759850,8229,7770757
English learners211,404925,9079,5420992
Foster youthno figure published22226,3976,39104,143
Homeless youth2252217,4718,62601,908
Migrant youthno figure published548,0313,77306,761
Socioeconomically disadvantaged14510,3793,618,0629,8530681

Chronic absenteeism

A student is chronically absent if they missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend. The rate below is the state's own figure, counted only from students eligible to be considered: a student enrolled too briefly, or exempt for reasons the state sets, is not part of it. Homeroom does not compute this rate; it is printed exactly as the state published it.

Chronic absenteeism at Goodwill Independent Study, 2024-25 school year.
FigureAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
All students65.8%24.1%19.4%9,71883733

Race and ethnicity

Race and ethnicity chronic absenteeism at Goodwill Independent Study, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Asianwithheld to protect privacy12%8.1%5,1134,688733
African American76.4%32.6%31.3%4,8644,937733
Race or ethnicity not reportedwithheld to protect privacy24%19.4%1,9957,806733
Filipinowithheld to protect privacy6.9%9.1%2,9086,893733
Hispanic or Latino59.7%22.1%22.3%9,498303733
American Indian or Alaska Nativewithheld to protect privacy18.9%31.6%4519,350733
Pacific Islanderwithheld to protect privacy39.2%31.3%5289,273733
Two or more races88.9%29.9%16.5%5,7484,053733
Whitewithheld to protect privacy25.5%15.1%7,7912,010733

Gender

Gender chronic absenteeism at Goodwill Independent Study, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Female64.9%25.1%19.3%9,503282749
Male66.5%23.2%19.4%9,621171742
Non-binaryno figure published28.6%31.2%551,9908,489

Student groups

Student groups chronic absenteeism at Goodwill Independent Study, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Students with disabilities100%32.6%27.7%9,215544775
English learners64.9%23.2%21.3%8,580983971
Foster youthwithheld to protect privacy35.7%37.3%9466,3663,222
Homeless youthwithheld to protect privacy43.2%34.9%5,6473,3191,568
Migrant youthno figure publishedno figure published17.3%1,1681,9607,406
Socioeconomically disadvantaged66.1%25.3%24.1%9,643156735

How much of this the state publishes

Coverage is published beside the data on purpose. A page that showed only what exists would read as a complete picture, and it is not one.

Active schools in this build
10,534
Schools publishing a total enrollment figure
9,860
Schools where that total is withheld
0
Schools publishing no total at all
674
Enrollment records matching no active school
698
Schools publishing a chronic absenteeism rate
9,718
Schools where that rate is withheld
83
Schools publishing no chronic absenteeism rate at all
733

What is not on this page yet

Teacher assignment data is not yet published here. California publishes, for each school, how many teaching assignments were held by a teacher with a clear credential matched to what they teach. Homeroom has read that file and confirmed what it contains, and has not yet decided how to publish it, so this page shows no figure about the teachers at this school.

The state dashboard indicators and per-pupil spending are not here yet either. Each one arrives with its own file and its own access date, or it does not arrive.

Where these numbers come from

Every figure above was copied from one of these files. Nothing was estimated, averaged, or filled in from a neighbouring number.

Enrollment
Census Day Enrollment Data. File: cdenroll2526.txt. School year: 2025-26. Downloaded: 2026-08-07. The state's page for this file
School names and districts
Public Schools and Districts directory. File: pubschls.txt. Downloaded: 2026-08-07. The state's page for this file
Chronic absenteeism
Chronic Absenteeism Data. File: chronicabsenteeism25.txt. School year: 2024-25. Downloaded: 2026-08-21. The state's page for this file