HomeroomCalifornia public school data, readable by the families it describes.

California public school

Desert Learning Academy

School district
Palm Springs Unified
City
Palm Springs
County
Riverside
Grades served
1-12
School type
Not a charter school
County-district-school code
33671730133090

How to read this page

Homeroom does not rank schools. There is no score here, no grade, and no list putting one school above another. Each figure is shown on its own, with the public file it came from named at the bottom of the page.

Beside each figure are the same figures for this school's district and for California. They are there to give a number a size, not to award a verdict: being above or below either one is not by itself good or bad. Both come from the state's own district and statewide rows in the same file. Homeroom does not add schools together to make them, because any such total would quietly leave out the students whose numbers the state withheld.

A blank cell is not a zero, and a withheld number is not a zero either. Those are three different facts, and this page keeps them apart.

What each cell can say

A number
The state published this figure. It is printed exactly as published.
reported as zero
The state published a zero. Nobody was counted, and that is a fact the state recorded, not an empty space.
withheld to protect privacy
The state has this figure and holds it back, because the group is small enough that publishing the count could identify a student. Homeroom leaves it out. It is never filled in and never shown as a zero.
no figure published
The state published nothing here at all. That is different from a zero and different from a figure held back.

Students

Total enrollment at Desert Learning Academy on Census Day, 2025-26.
FigureAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
All students22819,6215,731,2609,8600674

The last three columns are not about this school. They count all 10,534 active schools Homeroom holds, so that an empty row here can be read against how often the state publishes that figure at all.

Students by grade

Enrollment by grade at Desert Learning Academy on Census Day, 2025-26.
GradeAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Transitional kindergarten (TK)0 reported as zero626213,3139,8600674
Kindergarten0 reported as zero1,216355,3919,8600674
Grade 10 reported as zero1,250376,3939,8600674
Grade 261,379387,0839,8600674
Grade 391,416404,4549,8600674
Grade 4111,458420,7569,8600674
Grade 591,542422,4999,8600674
Grade 6191,518428,6729,8600674
Grade 7231,559432,5659,8600674
Grade 8271,453438,9499,8600674
Grade 9181,521462,2069,8600674
Grade 10291,514465,0899,8600674
Grade 11431,558445,9309,8600674
Grade 12341,611477,9609,8600674

Students by group

These are the groups the state counts, using its own categories. A group with a small number of students is often withheld, which is why so many of these rows say so.

Race and ethnicity

Race and ethnicity at Desert Learning Academy on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Asianno figure published159588,4198,34102,193
African American8716276,1138,60401,930
Race or ethnicity not reportedno figure publishedno figure published74,2445,65004,884
Filipino5338126,9117,23603,298
Hispanic or Latino17716,2423,209,8299,8230711
American Indian or Alaska Native26624,1305,71504,819
Pacific Islanderno figure published3422,6925,14205,392
Two or more races5550280,4758,85101,683
White311,5161,128,4479,6220912

Gender

Gender at Desert Learning Academy on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Female1229,4562,784,9959,8160718
Male10610,1632,941,7959,8480686
Non-binaryno figure published24,4701,81108,723

English language acquisition

English language acquisition at Desert Learning Academy on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Adult English learnerno figure publishedno figure published4,52251010,483
English learner405,122925,9079,5420992
English only13610,0403,561,6829,8470687
Initial fluent English proficient3869273,7709,01801,516
English language acquisition status missingno figure publishedno figure published11644010,490
Reclassified fluent English proficient483,386900,5999,43101,103
To be determined120464,6646,00804,526

Student groups

Student groups at Desert Learning Academy on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Students with disabilities372,671850,8229,7770757
English learners405,122925,9079,5420992
Foster youth121626,3976,39104,143
Homeless youth162,125217,4718,62601,908
Migrant youthno figure published1348,0313,77306,761
Socioeconomically disadvantaged20918,1333,618,0629,8530681

Chronic absenteeism

A student is chronically absent if they missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend. The rate below is the state's own figure, counted only from students eligible to be considered: a student enrolled too briefly, or exempt for reasons the state sets, is not part of it. Homeroom does not compute this rate; it is printed exactly as the state published it.

Chronic absenteeism at Desert Learning Academy, 2024-25 school year.
FigureAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
All students1.7%28.6%19.4%9,71883733

Race and ethnicity

Race and ethnicity chronic absenteeism at Desert Learning Academy, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Asianwithheld to protect privacy7.5%8.1%5,1134,688733
African American3.7%42.1%31.3%4,8644,937733
Race or ethnicity not reportedwithheld to protect privacywithheld to protect privacy19.4%1,9957,806733
Filipinowithheld to protect privacy8.5%9.1%2,9086,893733
Hispanic or Latino1.6%28.2%22.3%9,498303733
American Indian or Alaska Nativewithheld to protect privacy46.1%31.6%4519,350733
Pacific Islanderwithheld to protect privacy19.4%31.3%5289,273733
Two or more races0% reported as zero31.8%16.5%5,7484,053733
White1.7%30.2%15.1%7,7912,010733

Gender

Gender chronic absenteeism at Desert Learning Academy, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Female1.4%28.5%19.3%9,503282749
Male2%28.6%19.4%9,621171742
Non-binaryno figure publishedwithheld to protect privacy31.2%551,9908,489

Student groups

Student groups chronic absenteeism at Desert Learning Academy, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Students with disabilities14%35.4%27.7%9,215544775
English learners6.1%25.7%21.3%8,580983971
Foster youthwithheld to protect privacy44.3%37.3%9466,3663,222
Homeless youth6.3%31.9%34.9%5,6473,3191,568
Migrant youthno figure published21.6%17.3%1,1681,9607,406
Socioeconomically disadvantaged1.6%28.7%24.1%9,643156735

How much of this the state publishes

Coverage is published beside the data on purpose. A page that showed only what exists would read as a complete picture, and it is not one.

Active schools in this build
10,534
Schools publishing a total enrollment figure
9,860
Schools where that total is withheld
0
Schools publishing no total at all
674
Enrollment records matching no active school
698
Schools publishing a chronic absenteeism rate
9,718
Schools where that rate is withheld
83
Schools publishing no chronic absenteeism rate at all
733

What is not on this page yet

Teacher assignment data is not yet published here. California publishes, for each school, how many teaching assignments were held by a teacher with a clear credential matched to what they teach. Homeroom has read that file and confirmed what it contains, and has not yet decided how to publish it, so this page shows no figure about the teachers at this school.

The state dashboard indicators and per-pupil spending are not here yet either. Each one arrives with its own file and its own access date, or it does not arrive.

Where these numbers come from

Every figure above was copied from one of these files. Nothing was estimated, averaged, or filled in from a neighbouring number.

Enrollment
Census Day Enrollment Data. File: cdenroll2526.txt. School year: 2025-26. Downloaded: 2026-08-07. The state's page for this file
School names and districts
Public Schools and Districts directory. File: pubschls.txt. Downloaded: 2026-08-07. The state's page for this file
Chronic absenteeism
Chronic Absenteeism Data. File: chronicabsenteeism25.txt. School year: 2024-25. Downloaded: 2026-08-21. The state's page for this file