HomeroomCalifornia public school data, readable by the families it describes.

California public school

High Desert

School district
Acton-Agua Dulce Unified
City
Acton
County
Los Angeles
Grades served
5-8
School type
Not a charter school
County-district-school code
19753096107494

How to read this page

Homeroom does not rank schools. There is no score here, no grade, and no list putting one school above another. Each figure is shown on its own, with the public file it came from named at the bottom of the page.

Beside each figure are the same figures for this school's district and for California. They are there to give a number a size, not to award a verdict: being above or below either one is not by itself good or bad. Both come from the state's own district and statewide rows in the same file. Homeroom does not add schools together to make them, because any such total would quietly leave out the students whose numbers the state withheld.

A blank cell is not a zero, and a withheld number is not a zero either. Those are three different facts, and this page keeps them apart.

What each cell can say

A number
The state published this figure. It is printed exactly as published.
reported as zero
The state published a zero. Nobody was counted, and that is a fact the state recorded, not an empty space.
withheld to protect privacy
The state has this figure and holds it back, because the group is small enough that publishing the count could identify a student. Homeroom leaves it out. It is never filled in and never shown as a zero.
no figure published
The state published nothing here at all. That is different from a zero and different from a figure held back.

Students

Total enrollment at High Desert on Census Day, 2025-26.
FigureAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
All students32713,6205,731,2609,8600674

The last three columns are not about this school. They count all 10,534 active schools Homeroom holds, so that an empty row here can be read against how often the state publishes that figure at all.

Students by grade

Enrollment by grade at High Desert on Census Day, 2025-26.
GradeAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Transitional kindergarten (TK)0 reported as zero416213,3139,8600674
Kindergarten0 reported as zero551355,3919,8600674
Grade 10 reported as zero531376,3939,8600674
Grade 20 reported as zero566387,0839,8600674
Grade 30 reported as zero566404,4549,8600674
Grade 40 reported as zero576420,7569,8600674
Grade 570531422,4999,8600674
Grade 691586428,6729,8600674
Grade 775659432,5659,8600674
Grade 891689438,9499,8600674
Grade 90 reported as zero2,179462,2069,8600674
Grade 100 reported as zero2,294465,0899,8600674
Grade 110 reported as zero2,164445,9309,8600674
Grade 120 reported as zero1,312477,9609,8600674

Students by group

These are the groups the state counts, using its own categories. A group with a small number of students is often withheld, which is why so many of these rows say so.

Race and ethnicity

Race and ethnicity at High Desert on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Asian1349588,4198,34102,193
African American3930276,1138,60401,930
Race or ethnicity not reportedno figure published21274,2445,65004,884
Filipino2107126,9117,23603,298
Hispanic or Latino1968,1523,209,8299,8230711
American Indian or Alaska Native15524,1305,71504,819
Pacific Islanderno figure published4722,6925,14205,392
Two or more races5722280,4758,85101,683
White1193,0461,128,4479,6220912

Gender

Gender at High Desert on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Female1516,7122,784,9959,8160718
Male1766,8492,941,7959,8480686
Non-binaryno figure published594,4701,81108,723

English language acquisition

English language acquisition at High Desert on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Adult English learnerno figure published244,52251010,483
English learner341,086925,9079,5420992
English only2319,9113,561,6829,8470687
Initial fluent English proficient19373273,7709,01801,516
English language acquisition status missingno figure publishedno figure published11644010,490
Reclassified fluent English proficient432,201900,5999,43101,103
To be determinedno figure published2564,6646,00804,526

Student groups

Student groups at High Desert on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Students with disabilities562,430850,8229,7770757
English learners341,086925,9079,5420992
Foster youth210626,3976,39104,143
Homeless youth15437217,4718,62601,908
Migrant youth11448,0313,77306,761
Socioeconomically disadvantaged2769,2223,618,0629,8530681

Chronic absenteeism

A student is chronically absent if they missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend. The rate below is the state's own figure, counted only from students eligible to be considered: a student enrolled too briefly, or exempt for reasons the state sets, is not part of it. Homeroom does not compute this rate; it is printed exactly as the state published it.

Chronic absenteeism at High Desert, 2024-25 school year.
FigureAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
All students26.8%36.4%19.4%9,71883733

Race and ethnicity

Race and ethnicity chronic absenteeism at High Desert, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Asianwithheld to protect privacy16.5%8.1%5,1134,688733
African Americanwithheld to protect privacy42.3%31.3%4,8644,937733
Race or ethnicity not reportedwithheld to protect privacy41.8%19.4%1,9957,806733
Filipinowithheld to protect privacy25.4%9.1%2,9086,893733
Hispanic or Latino29.7%41.6%22.3%9,498303733
American Indian or Alaska Nativewithheld to protect privacy49.2%31.6%4519,350733
Pacific Islanderwithheld to protect privacy25.7%31.3%5289,273733
Two or more raceswithheld to protect privacy22.5%16.5%5,7484,053733
White23.1%24.8%15.1%7,7912,010733

Gender

Gender chronic absenteeism at High Desert, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Female23.5%35.1%19.3%9,503282749
Male30.1%37.6%19.4%9,621171742
Non-binaryno figure published39.3%31.2%551,9908,489

Student groups

Student groups chronic absenteeism at High Desert, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Students with disabilities30.2%38.5%27.7%9,215544775
English learners34.5%51%21.3%8,580983971
Foster youthwithheld to protect privacy62.9%37.3%9466,3663,222
Homeless youth53.8%57.6%34.9%5,6473,3191,568
Migrant youthno figure publishedwithheld to protect privacy17.3%1,1681,9607,406
Socioeconomically disadvantaged29.3%43.5%24.1%9,643156735

How much of this the state publishes

Coverage is published beside the data on purpose. A page that showed only what exists would read as a complete picture, and it is not one.

Active schools in this build
10,534
Schools publishing a total enrollment figure
9,860
Schools where that total is withheld
0
Schools publishing no total at all
674
Enrollment records matching no active school
698
Schools publishing a chronic absenteeism rate
9,718
Schools where that rate is withheld
83
Schools publishing no chronic absenteeism rate at all
733

What is not on this page yet

Teacher assignment data is not yet published here. California publishes, for each school, how many teaching assignments were held by a teacher with a clear credential matched to what they teach. Homeroom has read that file and confirmed what it contains, and has not yet decided how to publish it, so this page shows no figure about the teachers at this school.

The state dashboard indicators and per-pupil spending are not here yet either. Each one arrives with its own file and its own access date, or it does not arrive.

Where these numbers come from

Every figure above was copied from one of these files. Nothing was estimated, averaged, or filled in from a neighbouring number.

Enrollment
Census Day Enrollment Data. File: cdenroll2526.txt. School year: 2025-26. Downloaded: 2026-08-07. The state's page for this file
School names and districts
Public Schools and Districts directory. File: pubschls.txt. Downloaded: 2026-08-07. The state's page for this file
Chronic absenteeism
Chronic Absenteeism Data. File: chronicabsenteeism25.txt. School year: 2024-25. Downloaded: 2026-08-21. The state's page for this file