HomeroomCalifornia public school data, readable by the families it describes.

California public school

Independent Study, Sojourner Truth

School district
Oakland Unified
City
Oakland
County
Alameda
Grades served
K-12
School type
Not a charter school
County-district-school code
01612596114011

How to read this page

Homeroom does not rank schools. There is no score here, no grade, and no list putting one school above another. Each figure is shown on its own, with the public file it came from named at the bottom of the page.

Beside each figure are the same figures for this school's district and for California. They are there to give a number a size, not to award a verdict: being above or below either one is not by itself good or bad. Both come from the state's own district and statewide rows in the same file. Homeroom does not add schools together to make them, because any such total would quietly leave out the students whose numbers the state withheld.

A blank cell is not a zero, and a withheld number is not a zero either. Those are three different facts, and this page keeps them apart.

What each cell can say

A number
The state published this figure. It is printed exactly as published.
reported as zero
The state published a zero. Nobody was counted, and that is a fact the state recorded, not an empty space.
withheld to protect privacy
The state has this figure and holds it back, because the group is small enough that publishing the count could identify a student. Homeroom leaves it out. It is never filled in and never shown as a zero.
no figure published
The state published nothing here at all. That is different from a zero and different from a figure held back.

Students

Total enrollment at Independent Study, Sojourner Truth on Census Day, 2025-26.
FigureAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
All students45043,4845,731,2609,8600674

The last three columns are not about this school. They count all 10,534 active schools Homeroom holds, so that an empty row here can be read against how often the state publishes that figure at all.

Students by grade

Enrollment by grade at Independent Study, Sojourner Truth on Census Day, 2025-26.
GradeAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Transitional kindergarten (TK)0 reported as zero1,723213,3139,8600674
Kindergarten73,126355,3919,8600674
Grade 163,139376,3939,8600674
Grade 293,214387,0839,8600674
Grade 3133,346404,4549,8600674
Grade 4193,428420,7569,8600674
Grade 5153,262422,4999,8600674
Grade 6323,193428,6729,8600674
Grade 7303,229432,5659,8600674
Grade 8423,206438,9499,8600674
Grade 9693,007462,2069,8600674
Grade 10743,168465,0899,8600674
Grade 11633,068445,9309,8600674
Grade 12713,375477,9609,8600674

Students by group

These are the groups the state counts, using its own categories. A group with a small number of students is often withheld, which is why so many of these rows say so.

Race and ethnicity

Race and ethnicity at Independent Study, Sojourner Truth on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Asian233,736588,4198,34102,193
African American1188,275276,1138,60401,930
Race or ethnicity not reported161,20274,2445,65004,884
Filipino5318126,9117,23603,298
Hispanic or Latino13322,1153,209,8299,8230711
American Indian or Alaska Native112224,1305,71504,819
Pacific Islander329322,6925,14205,392
Two or more races362,829280,4758,85101,683
White1154,5941,128,4479,6220912

Gender

Gender at Independent Study, Sojourner Truth on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Female25621,0602,784,9959,8160718
Male19322,2612,941,7959,8480686
Non-binary11634,4701,81108,723

English language acquisition

English language acquisition at Independent Study, Sojourner Truth on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Adult English learnerno figure published14,52251010,483
English learner11113,314925,9079,5420992
English only26021,2163,561,6829,8470687
Initial fluent English proficient71,397273,7709,01801,516
English language acquisition status missingno figure publishedno figure published11644010,490
Reclassified fluent English proficient726,756900,5999,43101,103
To be determinedno figure published80064,6646,00804,526

Student groups

Student groups at Independent Study, Sojourner Truth on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Students with disabilities1207,646850,8229,7770757
English learners11113,314925,9079,5420992
Foster youth117426,3976,39104,143
Homeless youth322,020217,4718,62601,908
Migrant youthno figure published2748,0313,77306,761
Socioeconomically disadvantaged43434,9743,618,0629,8530681

Chronic absenteeism

A student is chronically absent if they missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend. The rate below is the state's own figure, counted only from students eligible to be considered: a student enrolled too briefly, or exempt for reasons the state sets, is not part of it. Homeroom does not compute this rate; it is printed exactly as the state published it.

Chronic absenteeism at Independent Study, Sojourner Truth, 2024-25 school year.
FigureAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
All students73.4%29.8%19.4%9,71883733

Race and ethnicity

Race and ethnicity chronic absenteeism at Independent Study, Sojourner Truth, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Asian75%13.1%8.1%5,1134,688733
African American77%41.3%31.3%4,8644,937733
Race or ethnicity not reported69.6%34.3%19.4%1,9957,806733
Filipinowithheld to protect privacy16%9.1%2,9086,893733
Hispanic or Latino76.5%31.5%22.3%9,498303733
American Indian or Alaska Nativewithheld to protect privacy45.2%31.6%4519,350733
Pacific Islanderwithheld to protect privacy60.2%31.3%5289,273733
Two or more races71.4%21%16.5%5,7484,053733
White67.4%16.4%15.1%7,7912,010733

Gender

Gender chronic absenteeism at Independent Study, Sojourner Truth, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Female71.3%29.8%19.3%9,503282749
Male75.7%30%19.4%9,621171742
Non-binarywithheld to protect privacy17.4%31.2%551,9908,489

Student groups

Student groups chronic absenteeism at Independent Study, Sojourner Truth, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Students with disabilities78.8%39.4%27.7%9,215544775
English learners73.8%31.4%21.3%8,580983971
Foster youthwithheld to protect privacy56.2%37.3%9466,3663,222
Homeless youth73.3%45.3%34.9%5,6473,3191,568
Migrant youthno figure publishedwithheld to protect privacy17.3%1,1681,9607,406
Socioeconomically disadvantaged74%34.3%24.1%9,643156735

How much of this the state publishes

Coverage is published beside the data on purpose. A page that showed only what exists would read as a complete picture, and it is not one.

Active schools in this build
10,534
Schools publishing a total enrollment figure
9,860
Schools where that total is withheld
0
Schools publishing no total at all
674
Enrollment records matching no active school
698
Schools publishing a chronic absenteeism rate
9,718
Schools where that rate is withheld
83
Schools publishing no chronic absenteeism rate at all
733

What is not on this page yet

Teacher assignment data is not yet published here. California publishes, for each school, how many teaching assignments were held by a teacher with a clear credential matched to what they teach. Homeroom has read that file and confirmed what it contains, and has not yet decided how to publish it, so this page shows no figure about the teachers at this school.

The state dashboard indicators and per-pupil spending are not here yet either. Each one arrives with its own file and its own access date, or it does not arrive.

Where these numbers come from

Every figure above was copied from one of these files. Nothing was estimated, averaged, or filled in from a neighbouring number.

Enrollment
Census Day Enrollment Data. File: cdenroll2526.txt. School year: 2025-26. Downloaded: 2026-08-07. The state's page for this file
School names and districts
Public Schools and Districts directory. File: pubschls.txt. Downloaded: 2026-08-07. The state's page for this file
Chronic absenteeism
Chronic Absenteeism Data. File: chronicabsenteeism25.txt. School year: 2024-25. Downloaded: 2026-08-21. The state's page for this file