HomeroomCalifornia public school data, readable by the families it describes.

California public school

Alternatives in Action

School district
Alameda County Office of Education
City
Oakland
County
Alameda
Grades served
9-12
School type
Charter school
County-district-school code
01100170130625

How to read this page

Homeroom does not rank schools. There is no score here, no grade, and no list putting one school above another. Each figure is shown on its own, with the public file it came from named at the bottom of the page.

Beside each figure are the same figures for this school's district and for California. They are there to give a number a size, not to award a verdict: being above or below either one is not by itself good or bad. Both come from the state's own district and statewide rows in the same file. Homeroom does not add schools together to make them, because any such total would quietly leave out the students whose numbers the state withheld.

A blank cell is not a zero, and a withheld number is not a zero either. Those are three different facts, and this page keeps them apart.

What each cell can say

A number
The state published this figure. It is printed exactly as published.
reported as zero
The state published a zero. Nobody was counted, and that is a fact the state recorded, not an empty space.
withheld to protect privacy
The state has this figure and holds it back, because the group is small enough that publishing the count could identify a student. Homeroom leaves it out. It is never filled in and never shown as a zero.
no figure published
The state published nothing here at all. That is different from a zero and different from a figure held back.

Students

Total enrollment at Alternatives in Action on Census Day, 2025-26.
FigureAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
All students864,3195,731,2609,8600674

The last three columns are not about this school. They count all 10,534 active schools Homeroom holds, so that an empty row here can be read against how often the state publishes that figure at all.

Students by grade

Enrollment by grade at Alternatives in Action on Census Day, 2025-26.
GradeAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Transitional kindergarten (TK)0 reported as zero149213,3139,8600674
Kindergarten0 reported as zero388355,3919,8600674
Grade 10 reported as zero388376,3939,8600674
Grade 20 reported as zero400387,0839,8600674
Grade 30 reported as zero428404,4549,8600674
Grade 40 reported as zero431420,7569,8600674
Grade 50 reported as zero388422,4999,8600674
Grade 60 reported as zero312428,6729,8600674
Grade 70 reported as zero307432,5659,8600674
Grade 80 reported as zero300438,9499,8600674
Grade 915158462,2069,8600674
Grade 1023192465,0899,8600674
Grade 1121198445,9309,8600674
Grade 1227280477,9609,8600674

Students by group

These are the groups the state counts, using its own categories. A group with a small number of students is often withheld, which is why so many of these rows say so.

Race and ethnicity

Race and ethnicity at Alternatives in Action on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Asianno figure published966588,4198,34102,193
African American8727276,1138,60401,930
Race or ethnicity not reported14974,2445,65004,884
Filipinono figure published85126,9117,23603,298
Hispanic or Latino761,8033,209,8299,8230711
American Indian or Alaska Nativeno figure published1724,1305,71504,819
Pacific Islanderno figure published3222,6925,14205,392
Two or more races1388280,4758,85101,683
Whiteno figure published2521,128,4479,6220912

Gender

Gender at Alternatives in Action on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Female382,1862,784,9959,8160718
Male482,1282,941,7959,8480686
Non-binaryno figure published54,4701,81108,723

English language acquisition

English language acquisition at Alternatives in Action on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Adult English learnerno figure published104,52251010,483
English learner471,111925,9079,5420992
English only112,0763,561,6829,8470687
Initial fluent English proficient1319273,7709,01801,516
English language acquisition status missingno figure publishedno figure published11644010,490
Reclassified fluent English proficient26722900,5999,43101,103
To be determined18164,6646,00804,526

Student groups

Student groups at Alternatives in Action on Census Day, 2025-26.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Students with disabilities30514850,8229,7770757
English learners471,111925,9079,5420992
Foster youthno figure published2726,3976,39104,143
Homeless youthno figure published93217,4718,62601,908
Migrant youthno figure published148,0313,77306,761
Socioeconomically disadvantaged862,7293,618,0629,8530681

Chronic absenteeism

A student is chronically absent if they missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend. The rate below is the state's own figure, counted only from students eligible to be considered: a student enrolled too briefly, or exempt for reasons the state sets, is not part of it. Homeroom does not compute this rate; it is printed exactly as the state published it.

Chronic absenteeism at Alternatives in Action, 2024-25 school year.
FigureAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
All students17.2%17.5%19.4%9,71883733

Race and ethnicity

Race and ethnicity chronic absenteeism at Alternatives in Action, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Asianwithheld to protect privacy1.9%8.1%5,1134,688733
African Americanwithheld to protect privacy33.7%31.3%4,8644,937733
Race or ethnicity not reported36.4%23.1%19.4%1,9957,806733
Filipinowithheld to protect privacy9.5%9.1%2,9086,893733
Hispanic or Latino14.6%21.3%22.3%9,498303733
American Indian or Alaska Nativewithheld to protect privacy22.2%31.6%4519,350733
Pacific Islanderwithheld to protect privacy38.5%31.3%5289,273733
Two or more raceswithheld to protect privacy8%16.5%5,7484,053733
Whitewithheld to protect privacy11.3%15.1%7,7912,010733

Gender

Gender chronic absenteeism at Alternatives in Action, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Female16.9%16.8%19.3%9,503282749
Male17.5%18.1%19.4%9,621171742
Non-binaryno figure published21.4%31.2%551,9908,489

Student groups

Student groups chronic absenteeism at Alternatives in Action, 2024-25 school year.
GroupAt this schoolIn this districtIn CaliforniaSchools publishing itSchools withholding itSchools publishing nothing
Students with disabilities16.7%27%27.7%9,215544775
English learners15.3%19.1%21.3%8,580983971
Foster youthno figure published50%37.3%9466,3663,222
Homeless youthwithheld to protect privacy35.6%34.9%5,6473,3191,568
Migrant youthno figure publishedwithheld to protect privacy17.3%1,1681,9607,406
Socioeconomically disadvantaged17%22%24.1%9,643156735

How much of this the state publishes

Coverage is published beside the data on purpose. A page that showed only what exists would read as a complete picture, and it is not one.

Active schools in this build
10,534
Schools publishing a total enrollment figure
9,860
Schools where that total is withheld
0
Schools publishing no total at all
674
Enrollment records matching no active school
698
Schools publishing a chronic absenteeism rate
9,718
Schools where that rate is withheld
83
Schools publishing no chronic absenteeism rate at all
733

What is not on this page yet

Teacher assignment data is not yet published here. California publishes, for each school, how many teaching assignments were held by a teacher with a clear credential matched to what they teach. Homeroom has read that file and confirmed what it contains, and has not yet decided how to publish it, so this page shows no figure about the teachers at this school.

The state dashboard indicators and per-pupil spending are not here yet either. Each one arrives with its own file and its own access date, or it does not arrive.

Where these numbers come from

Every figure above was copied from one of these files. Nothing was estimated, averaged, or filled in from a neighbouring number.

Enrollment
Census Day Enrollment Data. File: cdenroll2526.txt. School year: 2025-26. Downloaded: 2026-08-07. The state's page for this file
School names and districts
Public Schools and Districts directory. File: pubschls.txt. Downloaded: 2026-08-07. The state's page for this file
Chronic absenteeism
Chronic Absenteeism Data. File: chronicabsenteeism25.txt. School year: 2024-25. Downloaded: 2026-08-21. The state's page for this file